PUBLIC SCHOOLS (Historic Alaska Information)

Public schools are maintained for white children and children of mixed blood leading a civilized life, and are administered under both Federal and territorial laws.

There are 163 teachers; 88 per cent of the high school teachers are college graduates. Schools in Anchorage, Douglas, Fairbanks, Juneau, Nome, and Valdez offer a.4-year course of high school work. Schools in Cordova, Seward, Skagway, and Wrangell give a 3-year course. Petersburg and Sitka have a 2-year course. Alaska high schools are in general accredited at the leading state universities. Juneau and Ketchikan have teacher-training departments in connection with high schools. Five of the larger communities offer courses in manual training and domestic science, and at least some work along this line is done in approximately one-fourth of the schools.

Special supervisors of music and drawing are employed in a few of the larger institutions; orchestra and chorus work are not neglected. Military drill is a regular part of the required course of several of the schools. Medical inspection and dental examinations have been introduced—eight schools providing for the former and two for the latter.

The following schools are equipped with motion-picture machines which handle standard size films: Anchorage, Cordova, Douglas, Juneau, Ketchikan, and Valdez. The Junior Red Cross is well represented in the territory and in several communities troops of Boy Scouts are being organized. School savings from 37 schools show a total savings in government securities and savings banks of $59,817.25. In the incorporated towns and incorporated districts there are 16 white schools, with 98 teachers and an average attendance of 1,635. Outside the incorporated towns and incorporated school districts there are 52 schools with 65 teachers and an enrollment of 1,357.

Eleven communities hold citizenship high schools with an attendance of nearly 400 embracing 35 different nationalities.

Back to Table of Contents